Acharius Award and ABLS Lifetime Achievement Awards

As announced in Puerto Rico at their 2018 annual meeting (IMC11), the International Association of Lichenologists awarded William A. Weber their Acharius Award for his outstanding career-spanning contributions to lichenology. The Award was presented to him at the annual meeting of the American Bryological and Lichenological Society (ABLS) at the University of Colorado Mountain Research Station in Nederland, Colorado in August 2018.

At the same occasion the ABLS awarded him the two first-ever awards from the society: American Bryological and Lichenological Society Elizabeth Britton Award for Lifetime Achievement in Bryology and the Chicita Culberson Award for Lifetime Achievement in Lichenology. The ABLS established these awards in 2017 to recognize lifelong scholarly achievements and contributions to bryology, lichenology and/or service to ABLS. They are named for two past Presidents of the society.